Interim Committee Changes


Following the departure of Jeane Freeman and Paul Rooney, new members are appointed to lead HR and Finance committees.

SPA Chair Andrew Flanagan has appointed Nicola Marchant as the interim chair of the Human Resources and Remuneration Committee, and Elaine Wilkinson as chair of the Finance and Investment Committee. Both will take on their additional chairing roles at the next meetings of those two committees which are scheduled for February 2016.  

The interim changes come as a result of two members of the Authority – Paul Rooney and Jeane Freeman - intimating recently to the Chair and to the Scottish Government their intention to stand down from their SPA responsibilities in January 2016 to concentrate on other personal and professional commitments.  

These interim arrangements are anticipated to remain in place until later in the spring. The Chair of the SPA had paused any substantive or permanent changes to the SPA’s governance structure until he has concluded and reported the findings of his ongoing governance review (which is scheduled to report in March).  

SPA is in early discussions with Scottish Government on the requirement for, and timing of, a future public appointment process for SPA board members.