New SPA Board appointments.


Non-executive appointments made to the SPA Board.

The Scottish Government has announced the appointment of seven new non-executive appointments to the SPA's Board.

The new members are:

  • David Crichton
  • Gordon Dewar
  • Martyn Evans
  • Tom Halpin
  • Michelle Miller
  • Mary Pitcaithly
  • Jane Ryder

Tom Halpin will join the Board in March, David Crichton and Jane Ryder in April and Gordon Dewar, Martyn Evans, Michelle Miller and Mary Pitcaithly later this year.

Welcoming the appointments, Susan Deacon, Chair of the Scottish Police Authority (SPA) said:

“The SPA is one of Scotland’s most important public bodies with oversight of one of our nation’s most important public services. A very large number of extremely able and committed people applied to join the Board at this time and I would like to record my thanks to all those who took the time to apply.

“I am delighted to welcome these new members to the Board. They are all highly accomplished in their fields and bring with them a range of senior experience in leadership, governance and strategic change, as well as a passion and commitment for policing and public service. I look forward to working with them as we take forward the development of policing in Scotland both now and in the future.”


David Crichton is Chair of NHS Health Scotland, having been appointed in December 2016. Health Scotland is Scotland’s public health promotion body with a particular focus on reducing health inequalities. He is also a member of the Scotland Committee of the Equality and Human Rights Commission, appointed in January 2017.  Before joining Health Scotland David worked as an international development advisor for nine years, primarily in Afghanistan and Montserrat and also in Tanzania and the Balkans.   He was previously Director for Country and Economic Research at the Economist Intelligence Unit, Chief Executive of the Confederation of Forest Industries and Chief Executive of Scottish Enterprise Edinburgh and Lothian. He has held a number of non-executive positions in the public, private and charity sectors.

Gordon Dewar is Chief Executive Officer of Edinburgh Airport Ltd. He was previously Chief Executive of the Bahrain Airport Company; Managing Director of Edinburgh Airport; Managing Director of Glasgow Airport; and Commercial Director, UK Regions of Arriva plc. He was previously also part of FirstGroup plc and Commercial Director and part of the Franchise Bid Team for First ScotRail. Prior to that, Gordon spent ten years in Transport Consultancy for a variety of public and private sector clients. Gordon brings skills in corporate governance, operational and commercial performance, strategy development and delivery.

Jane Ryder is a qualified solicitor, with extensive experience as a Chief Executive and as a Board member over many years. She specialises in governance and regulation across the public, private and third sectors. From 2003-2011 she was the first Chief Executive of the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR) where she successfully established the new regime for the regulation of charities in Scotland. Recent non-Executive roles have included public appointments to the Board of the Marine Management Organisation and as Deputy Chair of the UK wide Seafish Industry Authority. She is currently a Board member of Revenue Scotland and is the Chair of Historic Environment Scotland, both new organisations established in 2015.

Martyn Evans BA (hons) MA (econ) FRSA was appointed Chief Executive of the Carnegie UK Trust in November 2009. The Trust is an independent endowed Foundation . Previously he was the Director of the Scottish Consumer Council (SCC) from 1998–2009.  Martyn was a visiting Professor of Law at the University of Strathclyde from 1995-2001.  He was Chief Executive Officer of Citizens Advice Scotland for five years prior to taking up his post with SCC and Director of Shelter (Scottish Campaign for Homeless People) from 1987-1992.

Mary Pitcaithly is retiring after more than 30 years in local government, including 20 years as Chief Executive.  She has a keen interest in the governance of public bodies and a passion for public service and public accountability,  With a legal background and experience of strategic leadership of a large, complex organisation, Mary will bring skills in building relationships and leading strategic collaboration.  Mary is currently Convener of the Electoral Management Board.

Michelle Miller has worked for local government in Scotland since 1985. Her main areas of responsibility have been in children and criminal justice social work services, with an emphasis on public protection and the shared responsibilities across social work, health and police for keeping communities safe, protecting vulnerable individuals and tackling offending behaviour. Michelle has extensive experience of both managing services and scrutinising performance and quality. Michelle retires as the Chief Social Work Officer and Head of Safer and Stronger Communities for the City of Edinburgh Council at the end of June.

Tom Halpin took up his appointment as Chief Executive at Sacro on 17 August 2009. Prior to this, he was Deputy Chief Constable of Lothian & Borders Police and led the policing portfolios for Public and Child Protection in Scotland. He was awarded the Queen's Police Medal in 2008 Birthday Honours.  A Chartered Director and Fellow of the Institute of Directors, he is also a member of the University Court at Glasgow Caledonian University and a Trustee of the Corra Foundation.  Tom currently chairs the Criminal Justice Voluntary Sector Forum and is a Council Member of the Scottish Association for Studying Offending, both influential 'think-tanks' on such matters.

  • These appointments will be for four years from date of appointment.
  • The appointments are regulated by the Commissioner for Ethical Standards in Public Life in Scotland.
  • The appointments are part-time and attract a remuneration of £300 per day for a time commitment of five days per month.