The Board

Susan Deacon small jpeg
Susan Deacon

Professor Susan Deacon CBE, Chair of the SPA, has a range of leadership experience gained in the public, private, and third sectors, academia and national politics.

Graham Houston

Graham has over 25 years' experience as a director in management development and executive coaching.

David Hume

David has over thirty years' experience in local government and recently retired after ten years as Chief Executive of Scottish Borders Council.

Iain Whyte

Iain was Convener of Lothian and Borders Police Board between 2007 and the establishment of Police Scotland in 2013.

Nicola Marchant

Nicola joined the SPA Board in June 2015 and has experience across diverse and complex businesses. She is a global HR professional.

Elaine Wilkinson

Elaine is a management accountant who joined the Board in June 2015. She was policy lead for the Northern Ireland Organised Crime Taskforce.

Photograph of Grant Macrae
Grant Macrae

Grant Macrae was appointed to the SPA Board on 1 April 2017 and brings strong practical experience in public sector accounting, accountability, audit and risk.

Matt Smith Board Member
Matt Smith OBE DL

Matt joined the Board on 1 April 2017. He has considerable governance experience and knowledge of public services in Scotland.

Caroline Stuart, Board Member
Caroline Stuart

Caroline joined the Board on 1 April 2017 and brings many years experience as a business advisor with a technology background.

Robert Hayes, Board Member
Robert Hayes

Robert has a portfolio of Non-Executive Director & Strategic Advisory roles, supporting organisations through complex change programmes, with a particular focus on cybersecurity.